Saturday, January 28, 2017

Why Those Particular Seven Countries?

President Trump's temporary ban on entry to the United States for people from certain Muslim-majority countries has certainly proven controversial, but as it turns out, the particular choice of those countries didn't start with himself.  As explained in Mic:
How, though, did the Trump administration choose these seven Muslim-majority countries? The truth is it didn't: The countries were chosen during Barack Obama's presidency.
According to the draft copy of Trump's executive order, the countries whose citizens are barred entirely from entering the United States is based on a bill that Obama signed into law in December 2015.
Sounds rather interesting.  President Trump's executive order is intended to carry out a law signed by President Obama.  From what I can tell, Mic seems to be rather Islamophilic, and a few of its pics contain some off-color language (from signs shown therein), but whether you agree with Trump's policy or not, read the full story.

No comments:

Post a Comment