Monday, July 23, 2012

Penn State Given Harsh Sanctions

As announced yesterday, the NCAA has come out with some severe (and deserved) sanctions against the Penn State football program.  Penn State will be fined $60 million, banned from post-season play for four years, put on probation for five years, limited to offering 15 new scholarships per year instead of the normal 25, and forced to vacate all of their wins from 1998 to 2011.  Any PSU football player who wishes to transfer to another Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division 1-A) school will be allowed to play for his new team without being required (as is normal) to sit out for a year.  CBS Sports has the details:

The removal of all victories over the past 14 seasons from Penn State's and Joe Paterno's totals will mean that retired Florida State and West Virginia coach Bobby Bowden will regain his status as the winningest coach in FBS history.  The winningest and longest lasting active FBS coach is my obvious favorite, Frank Beamer, who gained those distinctions with Paterno's ouster, which resulted from the charges (now convictions) against Penn State assistant Jerry Sandusky.

(For some reason, the post is showing a lot of space between the video and the paragraph below it, at least on my computer.  Sorry for the technical difficulties.)

No comments:

Post a Comment